Divine Bovine

I don’t worship cows. But I do good steak. If people say chocolates are so divine, I would say buttery steaks are such. I’ve been a meat-lover ever since even way back in the Philippines. Most of the time we cut affordable steaks thin. We sear it on a hot plate and smother it with gravy that will create a sizzling sound.

Filipinos always like steaks well done, while I would prefer it medium well to medium rare. I find our steaks fresh with all its beefy goodness but sometimes tough. I don’t know why. Maybe the answer lies on how our steaks cooked or if it’s the cattle-breed has the problem. Nevertheless, I had a fair share of premium steak cuts as well. Usually, you can find good cuts in hotels and some good steak restaurants like Melo’s.

In the U.S. they take their steaks seriously. And when I migrated here, my steak consumption helped the U.S. agricultural economy.  That greatly affected my blood pressure rising. I was scared about the consequences. I became more conscious about my meat consumption until one day….

dsc_0325dsc_0328

My boss said we’re going to Morton’s steakhouse for dinner. DISCLAIMER: He invited everyone in the office not just me. Because I’m an obedient office ninja, I have no option to object. dsc_0346Next thing I know, I was inside a private room with a long dining table. While waiting for my co-workers, I asked for margarita. When everybody was seated, the server explained the menu. dsc_0351He was like “Professor X” complete with visual aids explaining the extent of the menu from appetizers, soups and salads, seafood and different cuts of steak. dsc_0357

Not feeling shy with the depth of my boss’ wallet, I ordered Porterhouse steak cooked medium well. I had the best of both worlds on this cut. Sharing a large portion of tenderloin with striploin. While I’m salivating for my main course we had shrimp cocktails, lobster, oysters rockefeller, fresh oyster, scallops wrapped with bacon for appetizer.  With all these appetizers, I controlled myself and made sure there’s room for my steak. Finally, my prized steak came in all its glory. Until now, I can intensely remember the taste of my divine bovine. It was juicy, beefy, chunky and plain perfect. Honestly, I’m capable of finishing every morsel of that steak but I decided not to. For our dessert, we ordered fresh raspberries with whipped cream and Morton’s chocolate cake. Dessert was meant to be shared. The end note to our fancy and free dinner was a cup of cappuccino. dsc_0361-copydsc_0363

I would have to say that my expectations were met by Morton’s. My boss being ever generous took us to The Palm Steakhouse before. Morton’s was a big upgrade because of their extensive menu.  This time around I wasn’t shy on ordering too. And if my boss asks us again to eat out, count me in.

Leave a comment